Production team

Website created and maintained by Arthur Ka Wai Jenkins

Editorial direction and additional writing: Genevieve Helsby

Graphic design: Hannah Whale

Audio editing: Sarah Butcher

Data entry: Charlotte Treadwell

Contributing writers

(see footer of individual pages for information)

Celia Cobb

Catherine Groom

Sophie Kirk

Hamish Newport

Emma Pountney

Jane Roach

Caroline Waight

Roy Waight

With thanks to:

Yamaha, Selmer and Vincent Bach for permission to use images within the ‘Instruments’ section.

Yamaha, Selmer, Vincent Bach




Ensemble Intercontemporain for permission to use footage of a live performance of Varèse’s Ionisation.